• International conference “Museums and Cultural Tourism”

  • International conference “Museums and Cultural Tourism” was held from 24 July to 27 July, 2010 in Batumi (Adjara, Georgia).

    There have participated Museums leading experts and professionals from ten European countries and Caucasus region in the conference: Virgil Stefan Nitulescu - vice-president of ICOM Advisory Committee, president of ICOM Romania, Thomas Schuler - president of ICOM Disaster Relief For Museums Task force (Germany), Kate Craddy (UK) - director of Galicia Jewish Museum (Poland), Saadet Guner (Turkey) - president of Friends of Cultural Heritage (FOCUH), Mohammad Reza Javaheri - Managing director of Bonyad Museums (Iran), Yulia Litvinets - Secretary of ICOM Ukraine, Roya Taghieva - president of ICOM Azerbaijan &director of Azerbaijani Carpet & Applied Art Museum, Azada Huseinova - head

    of the Museums Affairs Department of the Ministry of Culture and Tourism of Azerbaijan Republic, Marine Haroyan - secretary of ICOM Armenia & Exec. Director of Association of Museum workers & Friends (Armenia), Maisat Muslimova - Deputy Minister, Ministry of Education and Science of Republic Dagestan, Aslan Kodzoev -Advisor of President of Republic Ingushetia, Alikhan Malsagov - Head of the Department of Monuments protection, Ministry of Culture of Republic Ingushetia etc, representatives of various Georgian Museums.

    The auditorium had got acquainted with the theme of the conference - European and Post Soviet Union countries’ experiences of the role of museums in development of cultural tourism, in the creation of needful structures and introduction of new methods for visitors’ services.

    The conference had been arranged by Ministry of Culture and Monuments Protection of Georgia, Ministry of Education, Culture and Sport of Adjara, ICOM National Committee in Georgia, G.iorgi Leonidze State Museum of Georgian Literature and “Fund of Caucasus”.

  • All rights reserved © 2019
    Ministry of Culture and Monuments Protection of Georgia, ICOM National Committee in Georgia, Georgian Museums Association, Culturological Research Association