Vardzia Historical-Architectural Museum-Reserve


    Museum address: 0500, Vardzia, Aspindza Municipality
    Phone: (+995 590) 880 113
    Date of establishment: 1938
    Juridical status of the museum: since 2008 - unified the Legal Public Entity - National Agency for Cultural Heritage Preservation of Georgia (Ministry of Culture and Monuments Protection of Georgia)
    Type (profile): history


    Museum collection description: Sites and monuments preserved on the territory of Vardzia Historical-Architectural Museum-Reserve are as follows: Barrows, remains of Antique Settlement, rock villages, medieval town-castles, and systems of caves of various destinations. Visitor’s attention will be captivated by a grand complex of rock-cut marvelous monument of 1184-1186 constructed according to the pre-planned design comprising hundreds of large and small halls, the main cathedral adorned with fine frescoes of King George III of Georgia and his successor –Queen Tamar. Visit to the cave village of Ananuri, with the fresco of the King of Georgia Lasha-Giorgi, Queen Tamar’s heir, is also planned coupled with tours to the constant temperature spring pouring from the rock, a secret tunnel and many other sightseeing: Vardzia Monastery complex (XII c,), Tmogvi Fortress (IX-X c), Vani Caves (VIII- XVI cc), Tsunda Church (XII-XIII cc.) etc.

    Working hours: Everyday, except Monday, 10.00-17.00
    Ticket price: Adult - 3 GEL, schoolchildren and students - 1GEL
    Free of charge: Children under 6 years of age and homeless children. Groups: Employees of Georgian and Foreign Museums, ICOM, ICOMOS members (with valid identification), First and second category disabled persons, soldiers, refugees.


    Total space of the museum: 40 054 m²

    Storage space: 12 m²

    Annual quantity of visitors: 22 000

  • All rights reserved © 2018
    Ministry of Culture and Monuments Protection of Georgia, ICOM National Committee in Georgia, Georgian Museums Association, Culturological Research Association